Track Champions Crowned at Red River Valley, Jamestown and River Cities; Other Weekend Notes

Rob VanMil won the IMCA Stock Car title at RRVS (Mike Spieker/Speedway Shots)

I was busy at work for much of the weekend so the Race Chaser blog took a bit of a break. Instead of digging deep into results here are some overviews from area tracks.

I made it to Red River Valley Speedway for the features on Friday. I give track officials credit — the track was very racy, considering the wet and humid weather and some rain showers throughout the day. I know it poured in Moorhead for like 20 minutes on Friday afternoon and I thought the chances of racing were slim at best. But RRVS got its season championship in, to the credit of their officials, and didn’t pull the plug even though there was some rain in the area during the day.

Tyler Peterson’s win in the IMCA Modified season finale at Red River Valley Speedway proved bigger than just a feature victory. It also gave him the 2018 track championship — by one point — over Rich Pavlicek of Casselton and Darren Pfau of West Fargo. Peterson is now at 10 wins on the season and has emerged as the fastest IMCA Mod around this season.

Matt Talley of Sabin won the final IMCA Sport Mod feature but the track title when to Luke Johnson of Moorhead, who topped Scott Jacobson of Fargo by 14 points. Johnson had three wins at RRVS this season.

Tim Shiek of Fargo won the IMCA Hobby Stock track title by 24 points over Brad Orvedal of Fargo. Shiek won four features this season; Adam Goff of Minot also won four in seven appearances at the track, including a win on Friday. A tip of the hat to Alyssa White of Fargo, won ran a strong third on Friday.

Rob VanMil’s IMCA Stock Car win clinched the track championship by 10 points over Brandon Schmidt of Hillsboro. VanMil made quite a comeback; he was put to the back for a spin and worked through the field to VanMil and Schmidt each won five features at RRVS while Rick Schulz picked up the other win.

It should be of no surprise that Tim Estenson of Fargo won the track title in the INEX Legends. He won nine features at the track this summer and has 26 on the season overall. Tye Wilke finished second in the points with 10 top five finishes. A shoutout to Kaitlyn Skalicky; she battled Estenson hard for the feature win on Friday at West Fargo and has 16 top five finishes on the year. In her last five starts, Skalicky has three seconds and two third-place finishes.

The Lightning Sprints made their first appearance at RRVS this season with a solid 14 cars in attendance. Alex Truscinski of Greenbush won the main event with Zachary Kwiatkoski of Grand Forks second. Estenson was the hard charger, finishing seventh after starting 14th.

I-94 Speedway
I-94 Speedway winners on Friday included Don Shaw of Ham Lake in the Wissota Modifieds, Casey Meyer of Wahpeton in the Wissota Late Models, Brock Gronwold of Fergus Falls in the Wissota Midwest Modified, Travis Saurer of Elizabeth in the Limited Late Model, Kyle Dykhoff of Perham in the Wissota Street Stock and Dan Harstad of Fergus Falls in the Short Trackers.

A great field of 108 cars signed in at I-94.

There are some great point battles at I-94 heading into next week’s season championship.

Brady Gerdes of Villard and Jason Thoennes of Garfield are locked in a fierce battle for the track championship in the Wissota Modifieds. Heading into next week’s finale Gerdes leads by 10 points. Gerdes has won three titles at I-94 while Thoennes won the crown in 2017.

Another close battle is in the Wissota Street Stocks, where Ryan Satter of Dent leads Eric Riley of Morris by just nine points.

Schill leads Casey Meyer by 26 points heading into the season championship. Schill is the defending champion.

Gronwold leads Sam Zender of Fergus Falls by 62 points in the Wissota Midwest Modified.

Ben Wolden of Fergus Falls has clinched his second straight Limited Late Model championship; the bigger story is the development of rookie Brad Staples, who is in second in the points a margin of two over Dustin Johanneck. Staples has six top five finishes at I-94.

Randy Thompson of Lake Park seems to have the Short Tracker title in hand, holding a 48-point lead over Matt Pederson of Lake Park.

Jamestown Speedway
Congrats to Kyle Langland of Enderlin for picking up the Wissota Midwest Modified win Saturday night at Jamestown Speedway. It was his first win of the season.

Other feature winners Saturday at Jamestown included Eric Edwards of Edgeley in the IMCA Modified, Jason Miller of Monango in the Pure Stock and Royce Jawaski of Horace in the Wissota Street Stock.

Clay Gentzkow of LaMoure won the Pure Stock track title at Jamestown, taking the crown by eight points over Leann Christensen of Spiritwood.

Nate Reinke of Lisbon won the Wissota Midwest Modified title for a second straight year. He had eight top five finishes at the track this season.

Bob Banish Jr of Milnor is the 2018 Wissota Street Stock track champion at Jamestown, winning by 43 points over Rory Opp of Hannaford. Banish won two features at Jamestown this season.

Edwards won the IMCA Mod track title over Josh Eberhardt of Jamestown.

—River Cities Speedway winners on Friday included Mark Dobmeier of Grand Forks in the sprints, Nate Reynolds of Hoople in the Wissota Midwest Modified, Dustin Strand of East Grand Forks in the Wissota Late Model and Dan Aberle of Finley in the Wissota Street Stocks. Strand, Lance Schill of Langdon (Wissota Midwest Modified), Wade Nygaard of Grand Forks (NOSA Sprints) and Adam Burrows of West Fargo in the Wissota Street Stocks.
Burrows won the title by one point over Aberle.
—Viking Speedway in Alexandria canceled this week because of wet conditions.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s