Borgen Wins Thriller at Corn Cob Nationals; 2 Repeat Winners at Viking; Riley and Greseth win at Greenbush

img_0486I was able to sneak over to Buffalo River Race Park for the feature races on the final night of the Corn Cob Nationals on Sunday. A nice crowd and good field of cars were on hand. I got there right at the conclusion of the INEX Legend feature.

The big news out of BRRP came off the track as it was announced the track will move to Saturdays for its regular racing program. Look for a blog/mini editorial on that later.

The highlight of the night was the IMCA Modified feature, which turned into a fantastic late-race battle between Tyler Hall of Fertile and Bryce Borgen of Perley. Hall had an early side-by-side battle with Dev Malmlov for the first six laps before assuming the lead. Borgen, who started fifth, was effectively using the high line and moved around Malmlov for second.

Hall seemed to be in control until a caution came out with five laps left. His lead was gone, and now Borgen, driving the Bob Sagen-owned 99 car, was right on his bumper. Hall was committed to the low line and Borgen went up top. Hall was quicker in turns one and two but Borgen had an advantage in turns three and four. The race went down to the finish with Borgen edging Hall by a tenth of a second for the win. It was an outstanding race. Rob VanMil worked up to third after starting 12th while Allen Kent of West Fargo was fourth. Malmlov, a long-time veteran in the area, was fifth.

Borgen’s win reminded me of the several times I saw Sagen have a performance like that. I remember one night at Viking Speedway many years ago — Sagen started 23rd and in the back row against a stout field of modifieds — and worked his way to second, finishing only behind Scot Danzeisen, who at that time was dominating the division at the track. Sagen was impressive that night. Borgen’s night reminded me of that.

Matt Talley took the lead form the outset of the IMCA Sport Mod feature and was never seriously threatened as he picked up the win. Scott Jacobson of Fargo was second, Kelly Jacobson of Fargo third, Kenneth Bye of Moorhead fourth and Vince Jegtvig of Dilworth fifth.

A tip of the hat to a pair of drivers who started back in the field but each made up 10 positions — Billy Michaelsohn of Fargo, who finished ninth after starting 19th, and Torey Fischer of West Fargo, who finished 14th after starting 24th. Both drivers did a good job working through traffic.

The IMCA Stock Car feature was a dandy. Tyler McDougall of Moorhead and led the first half of the race. He was first pressured by Rick Schulz of Horace, who was running well up high. But Rob VanMil and Brandon Schmidt were on the move after starting near the rear of the field. It

I didn’t catch the hobby stock or INEX Legends features as I arrived late. The IMCA Hobby main event was won by William Smith of Glyndon. Nick Nelson of Georgetown. Will Miller of Sacred Heart, Minn., made the long trek north to finish a solid third. Josh Julsrud of Glyndon won the INEX Legend main event with Andrew Jochim, Saturday’s winner, taking second. Drew Papke of Bismarck was third, Tye Wilke of Detroit Lakes fourth and Sean Johnson of Kindred fifth.

The big 50-lap, $1,000 to win Sport Compact feature was a battle of attrition, as only six of the 18 starters finished. Shawn Perdonic of Winnipeg won the race with Grady Shearer of St. Cloud — who raced in this area for a while in the Short Trackers and B mods — was second. Neil Walton of Englevale was third.

Saurer and Hoium Repeat at Viking
Two drivers won for the second straight night at Viking Speedway in Alexandria.
Travis Saurer of Elizabeth won the Wissota Midwest Modified feature for a second straight night. Veteran Jason Hoffman was second, followed a solid run for McKenzie Gerdes in third. Shawn Olson and Ron Saurer rounded out the top five.

Brett Hoium of Villard had an excellent weekend, picking up his second straight Wissota Modified feature win. Jason Thoennes of Garfield was second, Brady Gerdes of Villard third, Zach Johnson of Kensington fourth and Josh Thoennes of Alexandria fifth.

Don Shaw of Ham Lake won the NLRA/Wissota Late Model main event. Mike Balcaen of Winnipeg picked up his second top three finish of the weekend, taking second, with Jeff Wildung of Nassau, Mike Prochnow of Menomonie, Wis., and Dave Smith of Edmonton, Alberta rounding out the top five.

Justin Vogel of Brooten held off Justin Tammen of Clara City for the Wissota Street Stock win. Jeff Crouse of Alexandria had a nice run, finishing third after starting 16th. Ryan Satter took fourth.

Dave Mass of East Bethel won the Wissota Super stock feature over Josh Zimpel of Braham. Crouse was third, Matt Miller of Glenwood fourth.

Tanner Horn won the Pure Stock feature.

Riley and Greseth Win at Greenbush
Eric Riley of Morris outdueled Ryan Johnson of Karlstad to win the Wissota Street Stock feature Sunday at Greenbush Race Park. Kyle Dykhoff of Starbuck was third.

Mike Greseth of Harwood picked up his second straight Wissota Modified feature win Sunday at Greenbush Race Park. Ward Imrie of Winnipeg, the national point leader, finished runner-up for a second straight night.

Haley Lee of Starbuck had a good run in the Wissota Midwest Modified, taking third. Austin Hunter of Winnipeg, who is second in the national points, won the race.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s